Tags

, ,

I am a bibliophile.  This should come as no surprise to those who know me.  The printed word (and the printing, curation, and ultimate fate of said words) is something I find fascinating.  I’m convinced that were I not a biologist, I’d likely end up working in a library.

Spending so much time in libraries (and with friends who work / spend a lot of time in libraries) means I get to see some neat stuff.  Whether it’s bound journal volumes from the late 1800s, or the latest volume to come in the library, I’ll stop and take a look.  That’s how I learned about the Arctic Expert Test.

Last week, a colleague showed me an issue of the trade publication Water Well Journal from 1973.  And this advert on page 7:

Flow Clearwater

The “journal” is a trade magazine (and is still published), but as far as I can tell, the Mustang Well Supply Corp. of Bellaire, Texas no longer exists.

We all knew that sexist adverts were out there for cars, alcohol, clothing (and previously, tobacco), but well screens?  Apparently so. And boy is this a doozy!  No doubt if one scoured the pages of Nature and Science of the past, there would be similar adverts (or at the very least, a biased representation of white male scientists).

So let’s all have a good chuckle about the past, but remember that there are still pay differences between male and female academics today (not to mention sexism in hiring).

 

