Jeremy Yoder blogs at Denim & Tweed, that’s where I got this idea from.  So, without further ado:

62

The number of blog posts this year.  The most viewed:

Post title Page views
What’s a PhD to do? 1,547
How #icanhazpdf can hurt our academic libraries 1,455
Beware the academic hipster (or, use what works for you) UPDATED 1,421
Natural history museums are essential for science 1,341
Personal academic websites for faculty & grad students: the why, what, and how 1,282

 

26,187

I started The Lab & Field in January 2013, and had no idea so many people were interested in my ramblings and banter.  Thanks to all 26,187 readers!

 

15

Ah the job market.  Some of these 15 applications were outside of universities, but most were research-based.  Seven of these applications were for jobs in the UK, 7 in Canada, and I applied for my first job in the US.

 

2

I started my 2nd postdoc in September 2013 (which is really just an extension of my first postdoc, which ran from 2011-2013).  Earlier this month, we put together a list of resources for others looking for postdoc opportunities.

 

10 

It’s been a wonderfully productive year, largely thanks to coauthors.  I (co-)authored 10 papers this year.  We looked at mercury trends in gull eggs, ways to study plastic ingestion by seabirds (and the contaminants plastic carries with it), used biochemical markers to figure out where birds caught as bycatch came from, and tested models of foraging segregation in a meta-analysis.  Three projects form my PhD were published in 2013, including the Birds of North America account for one of my focal species, Least Auklet.

 

4500

The approximate distance, in km, I drove from Halifax to Saskatoon in September after buying a car for the first time in 8 years.

 

3

In addition to The Lab & Field, I’m active in two other science communication projects – I’m an editor for Biology & Life Science at Science Borealis, and also the Chief Statistical Intern at the Long John Index Service of Canada.

 

70

The temperature swing in °C in Saskatoon in 2013.  From a high of +34°C on August 25th to -36°C on January 31st. But it’s a dry cold.

 

 

Thanks everyone, and here’s to a wonderful and successful 2014!

