Tags

In January 2018, I started noting down some goals I had for the year ahead, both professional and personal. My last post in this category was January 2020, and we all know how well the intervening years went in terms of long-term planning. Ooft. You can read the 2020, 2019, and 2018 editions.

So with the blog seemingly back, why not revive this fools errand of prognosticating about what the year ahead will have in store!

Clear my 3 oldest research projects

These all stem from my postdoc in Saskatchewan from 2011-2014. I got one off the books this year, and have 3 others I’d like to try and wrap up. All the data are there, it’s just a case of slotting them in to my precious research time.

Keep track of time

In my last few years at RSPB (2014-2017), I had a fairly good system for tracking my (approximate) time on projects, which was needed for some grant funding we had. It also served as a useful barometer to see how much time I spent on admin, in the field, or managing my team. I want to have a better handle on how I use my work time in 2023.

Spend some time thinking

I have a couple of projects that need some proper deep thinking time. It’s rare these days that I get more than an hour (two at the most) of time for a task, so I’m hoping some time working from home, in residency at St Nicholas’ in Leicester, or during quiet spells in the field will be useful.

Decide whether two Big Projects are worth it

There are a couple of larger project ideas bouncing around my head (and the heads of a few close confidantes), but they’d require a major amount of work and reprioritisation of time so I want to decide if one or both (or neither!) is actually on the cards fairly soon in to the year.

Increase queerness

This isn’t just a professional blog, after all! Over the pandemic I became more comfortable in my queerness and started to move towards the me I wanted. More on this in 2023 for sure.

Find 7 new dinners

In 2020, we did a major overhaul of our dinner meal options, and the result was a nice selection of new and different things. Time to add some more spice to the mix, so suggestions for quick (<40 mins), cheap, common-ingredient dinners that aren’t “meat, potatoes, and veg” gratefully received in the comments!

Here’s to a happy, successful, and prosperous 2023!